none
My problem - is MVVM the answer?

Question

• Hi There,

Forgive my wet-behind-the-ears question here - I'm new to Silverlight, and actually anything other than code that is pure data manipulation. Not sure if MVVM is what I'm looking for ...

I'm trying to build a silverlight application that shows data pulled from a Microsoft CRM system. My challenge is that I need to write in .NET to get the data from the CRM system - I need .NET assembly references to access the CRM data (not really a web-service, as they are dlls). Then, I need to get that data and pass it to Silverlight.

I tried just using the WEB project that they give you with a new Silverlight project, but I can't seem to share classes between the 2 projects properly - any code that can access CRM will break when I try to link it to my Silverlight project (because of the using statements for the .NET assemblies, which Silverlight can't recognize). If I use conditional compiling directives to cut out the using statements and code that doesn't compile in Silverlight, it also cuts that code out of the run-time (at least in de-bug mode).

Can anyone give me some guidance? How can I connect my server-side program that pulls data from CRM to Silverlight?

Thanks,

Andy

Thursday, July 15, 2010 10:00 PM

Answers

• MVVM really has nothing to do with solving your problem.

The problem is getting data from the CRM to the Silverlight client. That can be done a variety of ways. MVVM addresses more of the separation of concerns on the client side and how you structure and maintain your application. 

To fully understand the solution, you need to really look at Silverlight as a client-server application, with Silverlight being the client.