none
VSeWSS 1.3 Feedback and Feature Requests

Question

• First of all I would like to say this tool has improved quite a bit since the last version.  However, I still feel that it has a long way to go before a SharePoint developer would actually consider using it.  The functionality I am targeting today is the web part functionality.

I really like the added options to Deploy, Package, and Retract Solutions added to the context menu of your solution.  These all seemed to work really well.  I was able to create a quick Hello World web part and deploy it.  I activated it manually and was able to view it immediately.  One thing, I am very appreciative of is the ability to choose between a Full Trust or Partial Trust web part when you create the project.  You still have to specify the Code Access Security settings yourself, but at least it is possible now.  I am also a fan of the new options to quick deploy directly to the bin folder and 12 hive.

As a SharePoint developer, I put a lot of files into solution packages.  Pages, XML files, Master Pages, Site Template Definitions, you name it.   I want to be able to put these files in my wsp.  I assumed WSP View would have this functionality.  You can get to it by going to View -> Other Windows -> WSP View.  Maybe, there is functionality there, but I couldn't figure out how to add any files to the package.  You have no direct access to the DDF file and there are no menu options to allow you to customize or add files in WSP view.  There is an option to add another feature, but you can't customize what files to add along with the feature.  Somehow, when you create a new web part project, the .webpart file shows up in the WSP view, but I have no idea how.  This by itself, means I can't use this tool.  Again, if I am just being stupid and can't find it, let me know.  The one thing I will note here is that you can customize the manfiest file here.