Please someone get me out of this mess

Question

• Hello all,

I am new to Sharepoint but have spent a ton of time on this the past 3 weeks. I have gotten one W2K3 Server running with Sharepoint but even that one has issues i.e. I cannot get rid of the search service event log entries that correspond to the gatherer service Event ID: 2424. The 2 new Servers I have installed and configured just do not want to work. When I go into the admin console I immediately get a login box to which I input a domain account with admin priviliges and the login box keeps popping up many times until it finally will stop and display the page I want to see. Then when I click any other link the same scenario happens all over again????? Why is this happening???? I did not do anything different with this install that I did on a clean install of Server 2003 at home with no other apps installed and I do not have the login box problem at home????  I am probably missing something here in the config but damn if I can figure it out. I have read so many docs about this my eyes are ready to fall out. Please somebody with more experience on this help me out I will be indebted to you for life.

Friday, January 12, 2007 5:10 AM

Answers

• Hello,

With regards to the Event ID:2424 issue you are experiencing, please refer to the following support post  http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/927012   "This issue occurs when the service account for the Windows SharePoint Services Search service is configured to use the Network Service account. The search service account must not use a built-in account to access the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 database. An example of a built-in account is the Local Service account or the Network Service account."

Once you have cleared this we can proceed to your other issues if they still exist.

Saturday, January 13, 2007 11:48 PM

All replies

• Hello,