none
How to associate custom masterpage from 12 hive folder to an ASPX page

Question

• scenario: I have a custom masterpage available within 12 hive folder. 

I want one of the ASPX pages (say allitems.aspx) to use this masterpage. I see that when I open the ASPX page using SPD, it has default.master but upon changing it to mydefault.master it gives error indicating that file is not found.

So question is how to reference custom masterpage in aspx pages? I prefer to do it through visual studio but SPD is also fine.

thanks.

Friday, September 17, 2010 4:25 PM

Answers

• Hi Anirudh,

I dont understand, what problem you are finding here. In my previous posts, i have told you that how master page can load into a site collection (i.e. Import method)

I have also told that you can apply any master page on any page through SPD.

Follow below steps:

open your site in SPD and choose your list from list folder. If you want to apply your master page only on Allitems.aspx page of a particular list then check out this page and find below tag

<%@ Page language="C#" MasterPageFile="~masterurl/default.master"

Apply your custom master page instead of default.master.

Is it helpful.

Cheers, Hemendra-MCTS "Yesterday is just a memory,Tomorrow we may never see"
    • Marked as answer by Anirudh123 Monday, September 27, 2010 1:23 PM
    Friday, September 24, 2010 3:45 AM

All replies

• Have you tried uploading your custom master page to the Master Page Gallery through the SharePoint UI (Site Actions > Site Settings) then changing the reference in the .aspx page?

Chanda

Friday, September 17, 2010 8:39 PM
  • Yes I did that. I then opened the ASPX page using SPD and tried to reference this masterpage but it is not working. Is there a way to directly reference this file from 12 hive folder in this ASPX page? 

thanks.

Friday, September 17, 2010 8:59 PM
  • Hi Anirudh123,

Thanks to share your problem.

Have you tried with Import / Export feature through SPD. If not then try it