none
SharePoint 2013 Document Approval Workflow

Question

• HI,

I am very new to SharePoint and SharePoint Designer. I have create a SharePoint Site that stores Documents in a Document Library. I have forced Check-Out and Required Approval on New and Changed Documents. I want to create a Workflow that is manually started to get the approvals for the Documents. I have created a List also on this site that has the Apporvers (Names from our O365 INstall) and there Approval Sections. I want the user who starts the Workflow to only be able to chose names from the List for Approvers. I also need to have a user hardcoded as Approver of ALL documents without the ability of their name being removed. Can this be done? If so can I get some documentation on where to go to learn to do this?

Thanks 

Rich Vieira

Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:28 PM

Answers

• Rich,

Personally I would just use the out of the box 2010 (yes 2010 even though you are on 2013) approval workflow.  I think this should be available by default other wise there is a feature which provides it once activated.

This will enable you to set default approvers.

You can also select

"Start this workflow to approve publishing a major item".

To make the workflow start if someone does a publish from the UI without starting the workflow.

You can Enable document approval so the workflow will eventually change the approval status on a document and make it appear to site visitors.

The workflow history will provide an audit of the document approval.

Be aware through that these workflow histories get cleared out by default in SharePoint unless you stop the timer job that does this....

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee662504.aspx

Whilst it is quite possible to write your own workflow the OOTB one is tried tested and should suit your needs.