none
Event Handler to check the permissions and delete the item

Question

• Hi

Can anyone help me with writing an eventhandler where it checks the permissions of the logged in user and executes the delete item action based on permissions.

if the logged user is administrator then he can delete the item else the user must recieve an error message.

i am new to the programming for sharepoint.

thanks

Monday, April 12, 2010 2:03 PM

Answers

• Try this......................

public override void ItemDeleting(SPItemEventProperties properties)
    {
         base.ItemAdded(properties);

try
    {

SPWeb web = _properties.OpenWeb();

SPUser CurrentUser=web.SiteUsers[_properties.UserLoginName];

if (!CurrentUser.IsSiteAdmin)  //Check whether user is administrator {               

_properties.Cancel = true;

_properties.ErrorMessage = "You are not authorized to delete the Item. Contact Administrator of site.";

}

}
    catch (Exception ex)
    {

// Log exceptions.........
    }

}

Regards, Aj (http://www.aj-sharepoint.blogspot.com/) MCTS
    Monday, April 12, 2010 2:37 PM
  • Hi,

For creating the event handler and trapping the ItemDeleting event, try these links:

http://www.wrox.com/WileyCDA/Section/Programming-Event-Handling-in-Windows-SharePoint-Services.id-306329.html

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms453149.aspx

And, for checking permissions, you can write some code like given below:

SPUser user = currentTeamSite.AllUsers.GetByID(properties.CurrentUserId);

if (user.IsSiteAdmin)
    {
       //Do something 
    }
    else
    {
        properties.Cancel = true;
        properties.ErrorMessage = "Deleting items from " + properties.RelativeWebUrl + " is not supported.";

}

Hope this helps!!

BR, PM
    Monday, April 12, 2010 2:41 PM
  • Hi,

If you have developed your Workflow using SharePoint Designer (SPD), you cannot implement any coding there. Means you cannot modify what you developed through SPD in Visual Studio.