none
Custom Action for an Specific List

Question

• I've been looking for an answer and I googled several sites but so far I didn't find the answer to this particular question, what I want is a Custom Action just to one SPECIFIC LIST.

Here on the forums I found a thread but not answered at all (http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sharepointdevelopment/thread/447a30b2-77bd-465d-aa6e-04fa84daa61a) and the closest best answer was:  http://www.chaholl.com/archive/2010/11/17/using-the-dialog-framework-in-sharepoint-2010.aspx

The link is great and shows a lot of the topic in a very good example I did learn from the link above but it fails to tell how to apply the same example to a List or to an specific Document Library or an specific List, it is a very generic example affecting all the libraries.

Since I'm not an experienced developer I couldn't figure out the way to solve and I'm starting this thread to hopefully find an answer and/or an example.

Thanks!

Saturday, January 08, 2011 8:17 AM

Answers

• Hi Dr. Sushi,

I would recommend that you install the Visual Studio 2010 extensibility project for SharePoint 2010 Ribbons. You can get the project here: http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/vsixforsp

It provides a new project item type (not a new project type!) which you can then add to an existing SharePoint 2010 project in Visual Studio 2010. It gives you a wizard approach to attaching your new ribbon elements to a specific list (or rather, specific list type).

Unfortunately, the project doesn't give you a complete designer experience for building ribbons :( you just get some Visual Studio code snippets and skeleton code. But it's so much better than starting from scratch.

If you've already got your ribbon CAML mainly done, the region you want to look at is the <CustomAction> tag:

<CustomAction
      Id="Ribbon.Joel" Location="CommandUI.Ribbon.ListView"
      RegistrationId="104" RegistrationType="List">