none
SPQuery with datetime field

Question

• hi,

i need to show created, created by and document name into gridview based on created date.

for ex: I have two textbox one for "from date" and other for "to date" and a button. when user click on the button what are the documents available in document library between the two date. 
    i have tried this way,

SPQuery oQuery = new SPQuery();
    oQuery.ViewFields = "<FieldRef Name='Created'/>" + "<FieldRef Name='FileLeafRef'/>" + "<FieldRef Name='Author'/>";
    DateTime strFromDate = Convert.ToDateTime(txtFromDate.Text);
    DateTime strToDate = Convert.ToDateTime(txtToDate.Text);
    oQuery.Query = "<Where><FieldRef Name='Created'><Value Type=\"DateTime\" StorageTZ='TRUE'>" + strFromDate + "</Value><FieldRef Name='Created'><Value Type=\"DateTime\" StorageTZ='TRUE'>" + strToDate + "</Value></Where>";
    SPListItemCollection items = splist.GetItems(oQuery);
    DataTable dt = items.GetDataTable();
    return dt;
    i am new to this technology.

i don't know how to use the spquery for this scenario.

please anyone can help me.......
    thanks in advace........

Wednesday, July 30, 2008 6:35 AM

Answers

•  you need to use AND condition and the "less than" and "greater than" operators to get the result:

your query should look something like this :

string createdBeforeQuery = "<Leq><FieldRef Name=\'Created\'/><Value Type=\'DateTime\'>" + strToDate.ToString("s") + "</Value></Leq>";  

string createdAfterQuery = "<Geq><FieldRef Name=\'Created\'/><Value Type=\'DateTime\'>" + strFromDate.ToString("s") + "</Value></Geq>";  

oQuery.Query = "<Where><And>" + createdBeforeQuery + createdAfterQuery + "</And></Where>"  

at the start comment the oQuery.ViewFields line to be sure that there are no syntax mistakes in it.

check if this helps..
    Wednesday, July 30, 2008 7:03 AM

All replies

•  you need to use AND condition and the "less than" and "greater than" operators to get the result: