none
Using document styles as values in drop-down in Word 2013

Question

• Hi,

I am totally new to VBA and XML but reading around this excellent forum I think my idea is possible using a combination of these two techniques....

OBJECTIVE: Generate drop down menus that dynamically reads in text in a certain style (Heading2) within a single document as properties of the drop down.

Basically I have been tasked with streamlining a documentation process at work. The document contains a number of 'issues' (sections of normal text) headed with a 'issue' title (that is normally in a Heading2 style).

At the start of the document there is a table detailing all the 'issues' within the document. Currently this table has to be manually populated by duplicating all the 'issue' titles into the table, along with its section reference number. 

What I would like is for the table to have a single line to start with, with a drop down box in the first column that, when activated, reads in the 'issue' titles as properties for the dropdown.

Is this possible? If so any guidance is gratefully received.

Thanks in advance, MattG.

Friday, February 08, 2013 4:52 PM

Answers

• Hi Matt

So, basically you want to "filter" the TOC in the Reference table? Let the user select one issue (from text formatted with Heading 2) and then all the Items for the select issue will be listed?

Before you put in all that effort, this being Word 2013, have you and the client looked at the functionality to collapse the headers? This document could open with only Heading 1 showing for the entire document. Hovering the mouse over the header will display an "arrow" in the left margin. Click that to expand that header. See this blog article
    http://blogs.msmvps.com/wordmeister/2012/09/05/collapsing-and-expanding-headingsoutline-levels/

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP, my blog

Monday, February 18, 2013 4:14 PM

All replies

• Hi Matt