none
"Cannot add record(s); join key of table ___ not in record set" Error

Question

• Hello, I'm trying to develop a simple form for a food ordering database at a cafe (as a learning project). I am fairly new to this so if I am posting in the wrong section, my apologies.

In a form I made to add/modify an order, I have the following fields:

EmployeeID, Customer First Name, Customer Last Name, BNumber (optional student ID number), OrderDate (defaulted to today's date), and the Order Details, which is a subform that contains ProductID, Quantity, ProductPrice, TotalPrice, and Complete (as a checkbox).

Now, when I try to select an employee to assign to the order, it gives me this error:

"Cannot add record(s); join key of table Orders not in record set" 

The employeeID field is a combobox that contains the ID (hidden with the column widths), and Last and First names.

Also, entering anything into the Customer First, Last, or BNumber results in the following error: "Field cannot be updated."

I have referred to the a thread that had a well-written solution for a similar problem but unfortunately I couldn't apply it here. I know there are many variables that may be causing this so please let me know if you would like the database to take a look (there is only sample data, if any at all). I don't know how I would post it here though.

Thank you!

Thursday, May 02, 2013 5:28 PM

All replies

• Okay, here you go.

The main form's record source should not have the table that the subform uses and the subform's record source should not have the same table that is in the main form's record source.  The subform should only have the table that the subform is storing data into. 

Both forms should not have any tables in their record sources that are just lookup tables for a control  The value can be displayed using a combo box or list box and their row source would have those lookup tables, but not the form itself.