none
remove access 2003 user level security

Question

• Hi everyone,

Just wanted to thank you now for any help you can provide. 

I am an electronics instructor for the Marine Corps and was developing a company dbase with user level security enabled.  I Sept we were forced to migrate to Access 2007.  I am tring to figure out how to remove the user level security from the Access 2003 dbase before I convert it over to Access 2007.  I don't know if I am wasting my time trying to keep the Access 2003 user level security active in 2007.  There are security issues I am having when we convert to 2007.  Since the workgroup is no longer needed, all the tables are exposed.  If I turn off the Nav Pane, then I can develop anything.  We are working off of a server.  We do not have an SQL server. 

I have built 5 databases using user level security.  I know you can remove it but we don't have access to 2003 anymore that is causing my issues.  Or do I have any issues? 

I just need a way for the user to enter his name, get assigned a security level and use that level to limit the Ribbon Bar, Nav Pane and Access shortcut menus but still allow me to develop on the go.  I work on this dbase after hours and the forced upgrade is causing me problems.

Any help, links, solutions would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you again for taking the time to help someone in disstress. 

r/s

Martin Cox

Wednesday, December 15, 2010 5:06 PM

Answers

• Martin,

If you want to keep the security then use the .MDB (Access 2003) database with Access 2007, no need to convert.  It will work as long as you do NOT convert it.  And it sounds like you do need the need the security so just leave it alone and it will be fine.

However, if you want to convert it I would recommend removing the security and then converting.  To remove the security see...

http://www.jmwild.com/Unsecure.htm