none
Use Sharepoint 2013 list data record in a word template

Question

• Hi Guys,

I'm not a developer, but I dare to get my feet wet in your developer forum :)

I was creating hosting pack offers in word for 20 customers and I was wondering If I could not replace my copy paste actions of service descriptions with a link to the SharePoint 2013 list I was copying from.

SITUATION

• Word templates are stored on our SharePoint templates library, synched to each computer with SkyDrive pro
    • Word template location is set to each users SkyDrive Pro location (Documents\skydrivePro\Templates)
    • This way all our users can use any of our templates when clicking new/templates/shared in word
    • Hosting service discriptions is a SP list (site.be/sales/hostingpackages/allitems.aspx)
    • Customer data is also a SP list (site.be/sales/customers/allitems.aspx)
    • Hosting discription has columdn headers like

Packing Name/WebSpace in MB/mailboxes/MailboxMaxSize...

• Customer details has columns like

CUstName/CustContactName/CustContactEmail ...

GOAL

1. Open Word
    2. Click new, then custom or shared and select "hosting offer.dotx" (stored on SharePoint and synched to local drive using SkyDrive pro)
    3. The doc opens as a new document1.docx and has som fixed formatting and text. then...

QUESTION

Here it comes...

Can I use a pull down menu in the part where I currently type the customer details, that will give me all customers in the customers SharePoint list. Once I select the customers name, the other emtpy customer fields are filled in with this customers details? And the same for the next section, where I select a hosting packige from the second pull down menu and it fills in the table with hosting package specs?

STEPS ALREADY TAKEN

Well, I am sure I have seen this accomplisched using excel somwhere. Can't be that hard to do it on SP right?