none
office-Access 2010 Help Please. Homework!

Question

• in access 2010 how do you modify a query so that all results appear even if there is no data input for a specific part?   I need every single  step and detail. be very specific because i do NOT know what to click on, or know where anything is located. im new to access and know nothing about it.

I in sam 2010 access chapter two project for homework. and the question was that i has two different tables. Sales Rep and Customer. i already sort the customer by the last name in descending order but now i have to "modify the query so that all sale reps appear in the result (like when you press RUN!) even if they currently have no customers." then i had to save the query.

Monday, April 29, 2013 7:27 PM

Answers

• Double click on the line that links the two tables and select the option that says something like

"Select ALL records from Sales Reps and only those records from Customer that match."

That is what is known as an OUTER JOIN.  When you have the normal link it is an INNER JOIN which selects only records that exist in both tables for the linked field(s).

Bob Larson, Access MVP 2008, 2009, 2011

• Marked as answer by regina55555 Monday, April 29, 2013 10:55 PM
    Monday, April 29, 2013 7:35 PM

All replies

• Double click on the line that links the two tables and select the option that says something like

"Select ALL records from Sales Reps and only those records from Customer that match."

That is what is known as an OUTER JOIN.  When you have the normal link it is an INNER JOIN which selects only records that exist in both tables for the linked field(s).

• Marked as answer by regina55555 Monday, April 29, 2013 10:55 PM
    Monday, April 29, 2013 7:35 PM