none
help with DLookUp and DMax

Question

• I am trying to set the control source for a field based on a combo box selection. the control source I am trying to call is not in the record source because adding that table would make my form non-updateable. So to get the correct data I am trying to use the DLookUp function with a DMax in the criteria section. I'm pretty new at using these functions so any help on why I am not getting the value I would like (currently the field remains blank) would be great. Here is the code that I am using:

Me.Field1.ControlSource = "=DLookUp('no','Revision',[date_revision]=DMax('date_revision', 'Revision', 'pnpid = FORMS!InstrumentIndex!pnpid'))"

Thanks for the help

Nick

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 4:21 PM

All replies

Me.Field1.ControlSource = "=DLookUp('no','Revision',[date_revision]=DMax('date_revision', 'Revision', 'pnpid = FORMS!InstrumentIndex!pnpid'))"

I think you have to surround the third parameter by double quotes. Try this:

Me!Field1.ControlSource = "=DLookUp('no', 'Revision', " & Chr$(34) & "date_revision=DMax('date_revision', 'Revision', 'pnpid = Forms!InstrumentIndex!pnpid')" & Chr$(34) & ")"

cu
    Karl
    Access-FAQ (German/Italian): http://www.donkarl.com

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 6:15 PM
  • Thank you,

That syntax returned the value of 0 for each record which is not a value in any of the records for that field in the table being called. What could be causing this?

Thanks again,

Nick

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 6:26 PM
  • nickjohnson wrote:
    >
    > That syntax returned the value of 0 for each record which is not a
    > value in any of the records for that field in the table being
    > called. What could be causing this?

Check what you get when you insert the expression into the control
    source in design view. There it should work this way (1 line):

=DLookUp("no", "Revision", "date_revision=DMax('date_revision',
     'Revision', 'pnpid = Forms!InstrumentIndex!pnpid')")