none
Word 2010 User Form - Repeating data

Question

• Hi:

I am a novice developer in Office. My focus at this time is Word 2010. I have developed a Word 2010 Template, placed text bookmarks, designed the "user input form" in VB and coded the fields I believe appropriately.

I am stumped on how to make the bookmarks in the Word template or the User Form Fields (content controls) in the Form repeat/populate information in other bookmarks that is initially put into one field of the screen presentation of the User Form. Example: "Supplier Name" field needs to populate three different places in the Word Template document. I have done some research as to REF fields but I am not sure if that is what I need to do or even how to do that if it is? When I experimented some of the bookmarks (with same name) in my template disappeared. I have found information regarding the design of filling in fields in the Template itself by Greg Maxey who also refers to articles by Suzanne Barhhill, but I can't seem to grasp how this might be applied to my needs? Any assitance would be greatly appreciated. The users want to have the graphical form presentation instead of a template document with the field controls in it for filling in.

Thanks

Maree Percival

Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:56 PM

Answers

• If by Graphical Form presentation, you mean what I think you do, you should look at the following page of Greg Maxey's website:

http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Create_and_employ_a_UserForm.htm

and use DocVariable fields instead of bookmarks. The advantage of that is that there is no limit to the number of DocVariable fields that you can have for the one variable.

--
    Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
    services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, Posted via the NNTP Bridge