none
Using Developer in Word to make templates with multiple options

Question

• Hello,

I'm pretty new to Developing templates in word for use in my office. The problem I have is that our company has four branches, and we only want one address to show up on the completed document without the user needing to type in the address. Is there a way to use the drop down list content control tool to change between four different 'paragraphs' rather than simply one line values?

Tuesday, November 20, 2012 9:37 PM

All replies

• Hi Heather2222,

Thanks for posting in the MSDN Forum.

I think you need clarify your goal more detailed. Do you want set a combo box at the document's header and change specific texture in the document when it's selection has been changed?

Have a good day,

Tom

Tom Xu [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us

Thursday, November 22, 2012 7:26 AM
  • Hi Tom,

I guess that would be a good solution to my problem, so that if the user chooses 'branch 1', the corresponding address will show up below it. All will be within the body of the document, not in the header. I haven't been able to figure out how to set that up though. How do you link the text to the choice?

thanks!

Thursday, November 22, 2012 7:58 PM
  • Hi Heather

A better approach might be to use the BuildingBlock content control? Then you could save the addresses in a particular Gallery and Category, set the content control to show entries in that Gallery + Category combination and the user would choose the appropriate entry.

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP, my blog

Friday, November 23, 2012 5:18 PM
  • Hi Cindy,

thanks for the help. I inserted a building block with the different addresses saved in the quick parts gallery, however when I enforce protection, the drop down box is greyed out and I can't make a selection from the added options. Am I doing something wrong?

Monday, November 26, 2012 6:56 PM
  • Hi Heather