none
Keyboard shortcuts in Word 2007

Question

• Hi,

I am new to VB and Visual Studio programming, and I am working on a Text to Speech toolbar written as a "Visual Basic addin for Word 2007".  I am trying to create keyboard shortcuts for my "play" "pause" and "stop" event Subs.  How can this be done? 

Thanks,
    Jake Friedman

Sunday, June 06, 2010 11:16 PM

Answers

• I am new to VB and Visual Studio programming, and I am working on a Text to Speech toolbar written as a "Visual Basic addin for Word 2007".  I am trying to create keyboard shortcuts for my "play" "pause" and "stop" event Subs.  How can this be done? 

Hi Jake

If we may assume you're creating a RIBBON XML part for your Add-in, then you can assign keyboard shortcuts to the Ribbon, as part of the Ribbon XML. Use the keytip attribute. Note that in order to use these, the user must press Alt, then the keytip for the appropriate Ribbon TAB control, then the shortcut for the button control.

Word does not support direct mapping of its keyboard shortcuts to anything but internal VBA "Public Sub" procedures. In order to link these with code in an outside DLL, you'd need a "stub" VBA macro that calls the procedure in a COM Visible DLL with COM Visible procedures. It's not clear whether you're using VSTO or are implementing the IDT2Extensibility interface directly. If you are making a VSTO add-in then the technique for linking up to VBA macros is in the MSDN documentation.

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP
    Tuesday, June 08, 2010 7:45 AM

All replies

• Click on the Office Button and then on Word Options and then on Customize and then on the Customize button alongside the Keyboard shortcuts item at the bottom of the left side of the dialog and then scroll down to Macros in the Categories window and select your Subs in the Macros window and then click in the Press new shortcut key control and press the desired key sequence and then click on the Assign button.

-- Hope this helps.