none
DoCmd.OpenReport Where Condition Issue

Question

• Hey,

I'm fairly new to Access and I'm trying to use DoCmd.OpenReport in a function which I have declared as such:

DoCmd.OpenReport "x Comment -rpt", _
                View:=acViewPreview, _
                WhereCondition:=strCriteria

The problem is with my WhereCondition. I'm basically entering a string in the format "[EmployeeNumber] In(12345,56789)" this doesn't seem to be working. When I run the code and it opens the report the output I'm recieving doesn't match what I'm looking for (The people who's Employee Numbers are 12345 and 56789). I'm assuming it's the way I declared the string because I have the same issue when I enter it as an expression in my query. Does anyone know what's going on?

One must therefore be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves.
    Wednesday, March 30, 2011 11:49 AM

Answers

• Ok some of my team members helped me fix the issue. It turned out that because EmployeeNumber for said query was not included in the report itself it was not being filtered correctly.
    • Marked as answer by Don Mon Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:08 PM
    Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:08 PM

All replies

• After further evaluation of the situation I realized that if I put the following in my "feild" section of my query

Expr1: ([x CC (Comments) -qry][EmployeeNumber] In("12345","56789"))

And I uncheck the "show" checkbox and set the "criteria" to True this works.

This leads me to believe that the expression criteria I'm putting in my WhereCondition does not try to evaluate the expression to see it it's True and hence does not filter my content. Is there a way i can get it to do this?

Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:36 PM
  • Hi,

it means only that your EmployeeNumber is a text field rather than a number one. If you change you code a little it should work:

strCriteria = "[EmployeeNumber] In('12345','56789')"

Andrey V Artemyev | Saint-Petersburg, Russia