none
Saving my site changes

    Question

  • Ok I know this is such a basic question. But it has been a huge pain. I just ordered Jim Cheshire's book. So hopefully next time I can figure things out myself.
    Almost everytime I modify my site it saves under a new file. So now I have 30+ versions of my site saved on my laptop. It is  a huge pain to find the most recent copy (even with looking at recently modified, its still bringing them all up). I'm scared to delete any in case it is important and will effect my current site. What am I doing wrong? Why are there so many copies of old versions of my site? I'm working with an existing site built with Frontpage and trying my best to update it with Expressions 2. I'm learning, but slowly by trial and error. Thanks for any help.
    Wednesday, October 15, 2008 8:14 PM

Answers

  • If you are typing in the web address (http) then you are working "live" using the FPSE.  I do not recomend doing so.

    If you have extra copies of pages you can delete them but I would suggest you publish the site down to your local computer and work on the local copy then upload the pages when you have changed them. In fact, I'd probably publish it down and make an archive copy on another drive or cd before deleting any files since that will give you a back-up if you accidentally delete something you discover you should have kept.


    MS MVP Expression http://by-expression.com
    Thursday, October 16, 2008 11:32 PM

All replies

  • How are you opening your site?

    File > Open Site and then the local site on your computer? on a network drive? on the web server directly?

    I have never seen Expression Web save sites under new names when working in a local site using File > Open Site so please provide a step by step how you are opening your files.

    You may find the video at http://by-expression.com/content/tutorials.aspx "Creating a Basic Website" helps.
    MS MVP Expression http://by-expression.com
    Wednesday, October 15, 2008 9:06 PM
  • I'm opening by open site then typing in the web address. I hit "save as" a few times when I was first stumbling my way through and now have all these old versions saved. Can I safely delete them and not lose any webpage content? I think I'm editing live now.
    Thursday, October 16, 2008 9:43 PM
  • If you are typing in the web address (http) then you are working "live" using the FPSE.  I do not recomend doing so.

    If you have extra copies of pages you can delete them but I would suggest you publish the site down to your local computer and work on the local copy then upload the pages when you have changed them. In fact, I'd probably publish it down and make an archive copy on another drive or cd before deleting any files since that will give you a back-up if you accidentally delete something you discover you should have kept.


    MS MVP Expression http://by-expression.com
    Thursday, October 16, 2008 11:32 PM