none
Interactive buttons.....

Question

• I'm new to Expressions Web 4, and am having issues figuring out how to make the interactive buttons clear. On most professional web pages you don't see the interactive buttons, just the words, and that's what I'm aiming for.. I've been messing around with the buttons and can't seem to figure out how to make it to where viewers will only see the words until they scroll over the button... what should i do?
    Friday, May 20, 2011 2:34 PM

All replies

• Easy answer: Don't use the interactive buttons. They are old and clunky and javascript-laden. The menus you are probably seeing on progessional pages are all done with CSS and an unordered list.

Open an EW website template and you can see how they are done by looking at the page code and the style sheet. Also, go to www.cssplay.co.uk to see all the ways you can do sharp looking menus with nothing more than CSS and an unordered list.

And take the tutorials in the Forum FAQ. That's the kind of stuff that's covered.

"If I had asked my customers what they wanted, they would have said a faster horse." Henry Ford
    Friday, May 20, 2011 2:50 PM
  • You can get the tabs to have rounded corners using a method called sprites that are positioned by CSS as well.  IIRC the interactive button was one of the ohh aahhh features of FP and that it got really crazy when you found out that each button had it's own 4 images to account for.  It seemed like a good idea at the time but positioning could be awkward and with all those images it was easy to mess things up.  Turns out that simpler was better.

FWIW,

MIKE E

"It's like déjà vu all over again." — Yogi Berra
    Friday, May 20, 2011 3:36 PM
  • And, if you haven't already done so, read the "FAQ - Start Here" post not only for the list of tutorials and references in the Resources section, but for the link in the first paragraph, to an article explaining what you need to know to use EW.

Friday, May 20, 2011 3:58 PM