none
Captions & Subtitles in Expression Encoder 3

Question

• I have looked at a training video & read through the software help that says you can do captions and subtitles in LIVE encoding using the script command option.  While I have followed the directions in both to the letter I can't get it to work.  Is there a solution for EE3 that gives me that function that is simple? :-)  I am not a developer so some of the terms I don't know.  Thank you for any help!!!
    Tuesday, November 24, 2009 1:59 PM

All replies

• Have you found the Script Command panel in Live mode (Window -->  Script Commands).  When broadcasting to a EE template, if you specify the script command type as Caption and click Send, it will send that event to the template and display the Command text as a caption.  You can check this by clicking the Launch Preview button.  There is a delay when broadcasting but they should show up at the botton of the video area.  When archiving, the script commands will appear in the Script Command panel after exiting live mode (with the append to job checkbox checked).   Let me know what is specifically failing and we can work though the problem.  Thanks

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights
    Monday, November 30, 2009 9:05 PM
  • Yes I have found the panel and followed the instructions.  Does it work when streaming to a publishing point?  The Launch Preview is only available when I select broadcast under streaming and not publishing point. When I hit the Launch Preview it opens an explorer window but for some reason I'm not seeing anything on the page.  If I right click it shows me silverlight info but nothing else is on the page?
    Wednesday, December 02, 2009 5:02 PM