none
Best Choice to Replace Front Page

Question

• Greetings, I have a small company that provides safety information and training. I maintain about 20 websites (5 pages) and with the help of two programming consultants have designed an online application that delivers documents and keeps records. I have built the safety websites with Front Page and had the consultants build the applications. I am not a programmer or a designer. My expertise is in content. However, Front Page has allowed me to build and maintain hundreds of pages of content. I am looking for a simple application to replace Front Page and wondered if Expression would be too difficult for me to use. I want to be able to access the pages online, remove content, add content, and edit links. I will use the consultants to improve the functionality and straiten out anything I mess up. However, the less problems I create the better. So, my question is, should I continue to use Front Page or switch to Expression? Maybe I should look at Coffee Cup or another program? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
    Monday, September 14, 2009 6:06 PM

All replies

• It depends on the age of your copy of FrontPage, but assuming it's reasonably recent (2002, 2003) I think you will find Expression Web's look and feel closest to FrontPage. That will make your transition easiest.

However, I would not go to EW3 until the fall service pack is available. If you want to start sooner, get your hands on EW2.
    Will
    Baltimore, MD USA - www.fastie.com
    Monday, September 14, 2009 6:35 PM
  • My suggestion is to get the trial versions of Expresion Web and the other editors you are considering. You may also want to get the free SharePoint Designer (which is roughly equivilent to EW 1 plus all the FP bots) and see which one is easiest for you to transition to. Just be aware that eventually support for the FPSE will go away if you use any of the bots that require them on the server.