none
Is Linq with stored procedures better in performance ?

Question

• I am new to Linq and startign a new project. Kindly guide and share your worthy experience with me.

For me attraction in Linq is that it reduced development time. But the proejct I am going to start is a rebuld web based project in which performance is much important.

I read Linq to Stored procedures is faster as with stored procedures it do not have to convert expressions (Linq quries) into Expression Tree (I also come to know it is major time consuming part).

Kindly also guide by complied quries with linq meant is use of Linq with SP ?

Monday, July 04, 2011 4:23 AM

Answers

• Good question.

I think they should be at about equal. The Linq query has to be compiled and cached, but it should not take a long time and it happens only once.

If someone is a SQL expert, then (s)he could be able to write a perfect tsql script. Or a DBA could improve it in the future, optimize it based on the experience on the actual data structure and how it is used.

As I know you cannot use a stored-procedure to make a compiled query, if you do you will get an error message.

Regards, Peter

//If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    //Also if a post seems to be helpful, please click "Mark as Helpful" on that post.
    Monday, July 04, 2011 4:49 PM
  • I have found a pretty good forum topic where someone wrote up the advantages and back draws Linq vs stored procedure.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14530/linq-to-sql-vs-stored-procedures

Regards, Peter

//If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    //Also if a post seems to be helpful, please click "Mark as Helpful" on that post.
    Monday, July 04, 2011 4:54 PM

All replies

• I am new to Linq and startign a new project. Kindly guide and share your worthy experience with me.