none
a Development Map for Becoming a Good Programmer using SB and MSDN

Question

•  a Development Map for Becoming a Good Programmer using Small Basic and MSDN

This is a question/discussion/any tips etc on some basics for planning a program. And an orientation and learning map for beginners using SB and this network.

I've read and learnt on this network that it's important to plan a program first before diving in and coding away and backing yourself into a logical deadend. Coding away then hitting a deadend results in finding out where you went wrong then rewriting the entire program with the lesson you just learnt.

btw I think it is better to rewrite a program that probably wont work rather then drive yourself crazy trying to fix an unfixable lemon.

As a beginner I found it almost impossible to plan a program and even harder to write pseudo code. I think the reason for this is that I don't know what the language is capable of. Lack of experience.

Now i'm a bit more experienced, say intermediate based off what challenges I can solve, I'm more aware of what the language offers but lacking some good coding techniques. At this point I would really like to be able to plan then pseudo code a program. I think I need to be able to do this to tackle more complex programs.

At this point (intermediate):

• I can plan and pseudo code a simple program (or do it in my head)
    • roughly plan and backwardly pseudo code an intermediate program (or just the bits that puzzle me)
    • and look forward to coding some of the more complex programs, like the games, and the traffic light challenge e.g..

I'm hoping to write and post an article that provides nOOb's and intermediates some guidelines on how to approach a self paced open learning initiative to become a good programmer.