getting CS1566 (Error reading resource file) when adding a resource in VS2008

Question

• I can compile projects without a resource without any problems, but as soon as i add a resource or create a new project which includes a resource file (e.g. windows Forms application) i get a

Error reading resource file 'K:\TestProject\' -- 'Das System kann den angegebenen Pfad nicht finden. '

(translation: 'The system cannot find the file specified.'). But as i look into the project folder there are Resource1.resx and Resource1.Designer.cs so they are there...

the Error help tells me, its the Compiler Error CS1566

After deleting the resource file I dont get the error anymore...

Other files, like Classes or windows forms don't make any trouble.

Any Ideas about what the problem is or how to solve it?

Thanks for your help!

PS: I'm still a beginner so that could be any very trivial problem.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010 7:33 AM

All replies

• Welcome to the MSDN Forums.

Maybe it doesn't mean the resource file itself but a file which have been mentioned in it and doesn't exist currently.

Please verify this. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Yasser

LEARN HOW WPF IS FLEXIBLE IN PRESENTATION DURING A QUICK SIMPLE WALKTHROUGH:
    Walkthrough: Displaying multi column ComboBox by using Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) data templating
    Wednesday, June 23, 2010 7:48 AM
  • In my test application there is emty Main method and an empty resource file.

I also tried adding some resources.

IntelliSense finds the resource file and the content (as i added some)

The problem seems to be in the "Resources" parameter or deeper. It gets empty strings only instead of the needed file names. It is not the tab in the Project's Properties called "Resources".
    This is the reason why the /resource: command of the compiler gets no resource file and handles the folder itself as a resource file... Cannot work :(