Compiling for 64 bit on a 32 bit machine

Question

• Hi,

I am running Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Pro on a 32 bit version of XP Pro.

Is it possible to compile a dll for my C code for a 64 bit system?

I can get a dll in the release file, but I assume it is for a 32 bit system since that is what it says in my Solution Platforms field and I cannot change it to be 64 bit.

I am very new to programming so thanks in advance for your help and patients.

-J Brake
    Tuesday, March 20, 2007 5:14 PM

Answers

• Please make sure that x64 bit compilers are installed on your 32-bit machine. Not installed by default.

Goto Add/Remove programs, select Visual Studio, Change, Add/Remove features and add x64 compilers from C++ node. After installing x64 compilers, you should see appropriate options under Platform and shoudl be able to build x64 projects on 32 bit machine.

Monday, July 09, 2007 2:58 PM

All replies

• if you can change the project to 64bit ,

it may be you have not installed the 64bit of Visual studio 2005, it is contained in the VS2005 pro. but it must be installed selectedly. so you must choose custom install for vs2005.

Thursday, March 29, 2007 5:10 AM
  • Yes, you should and it is as easy as changing the project build type to 64bit. If this is native code that is. For .NET code

things are different because it supports "agnostic" which is clever and means that an assembly will operate as 32-bit OR 64-bit depending

upon the platform it runs on.

For native code rememebr that a) You may need to install 64-bit features of VS 2005 that are not installed by default and that you cannot debug native

64-bit code in an interop setting.

Thursday, March 29, 2007 3:31 PM
  • There are a few important things to call out here.  Using the 32bit VS 2005 you can build and debug native and managed 64bit applications.