none
can you help me with error in databinding?

Question

• hi everyone here... i'm creating a project and i used databinding, 

I made a database and have tables and i used data source then dropped them on the form. When I run the debug and create a record save it, and then change the record and save it again I receive Concurrency violation: the UpdateCommand affected 0 of the expected 1 records. i don't know why is that happening. i tried again the procedure i made to another form and i just run,create and save it i didn't change and there is no error occurs but when the second run of the debug i create a record then save it and then change the record and save it again the error occurs again. what should i do to fix that? i am a newbie and hope you can help me here

this is the code back in the form: (the italic font is the error)

Me.Validate()

Me.StudentBindingSource.EndEdit()

Me.TableAdapterManager.UpdateAll(Me.DataSet1)

thanks in advance.

Wednesday, January 08, 2014 3:17 AM

Answers

• Use a command builder (from the database library you are using) like the code below.  The command builder will automatically generate an Insert, Delete, Update command from a SELECT command.  You need an Insert, Delete, and Update for the dataadapter update() to work.

Dim sitedb As String = BookingApp.Globals.siteDB
        Dim conn As New SqlConnection(sitedb)
        Dim sql As String = "select * from name where BOOKING_REF = 'H2124'"

Dim cmd As SqlCommand
        Dim da As SqlDataAdapter
        Dim cb As SqlCommandBuilder
        Dim dt As New DataTable
        Dim c As Integer

cmd = New SqlCommand(sql, conn)
        da = New SqlDataAdapter(cmd)
        cb = New SqlCommandBuilder(da)
        da.Fill(dt)

For c = 0 To dt.Rows.Count - 1

dt.Rows(c)!OVLREF3 = c
            dt.AcceptChanges()
        Next

da.Update(dt)

jdweng

Wednesday, January 08, 2014 3:47 AM