Unresolved Reference: Microsoft.Vbe.Interop

Question

• Hey,

I'm working on a project that is in the process of being ported from VB6 to .NET. I've tried to run fxCop against the main .DLL (it's a web app) but I get an error message telling me that there is an unresolved reference to Microsoft.Vbe.Interop. Now, I have confirmed that this file does exist in C:\Windows\assembly\ and I've even verified that the version/public key that fxCop is expecting matches the assembly in the folder. However, fxCop will not allow me to select the file to be loaded, nor am I able to use Windows Explorer to copy the file to a local directory and point to it there.

Am I completely missing something here? Is it not possible to run fxCop against the assembly if it contains VB6 code?

BTW, I'm a software engineering student so there's a lot I don't know yet. I may be using this tool incorrectly (but it seems so straight-forward).

Oh... if it's relevant:
    XP Pro SP2
    Visual Studio .NET 2003
    .Net Framework 1.1.4322.2032
    Office 2003

Thanks,

Kyle
    Tuesday, August 09, 2005 3:22 PM

Answers

• You have two options here, either copy the assembly to a disk location other than the GAC, or copy the fully-qualified path (including the binary name) and paste it into the browse window when FxCop queries you for the file. If I were required to locate the v1.1 System.dll file, for example, I would click browse and paste the following into it:

C:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC\System\1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089

Then click OK. There's special handling around GAC directories that prevent you from browsing and selecting files using the standard file open dialogs.

Michael Fanning
    VSTS Development: Code Analysis
    Wednesday, August 10, 2005 3:09 PM
  • In VS2005, we automatically pass the directories for all assembly references to FxCop (as this information, obviously, must be known in order to compile).
    Friday, January 06, 2006 6:16 PM

All replies