1 developer writing unit tests for whole team?

Question

• hi,

i'm a java developer with 10 years programming experience. although it hasn't always been mandated on some projects i have worked on, i have always written unit tests (junit) for my own code even though most of my fellow team members didn't.

i recently joined a new team. i was one of the last to join the team. so, the "good" (most sought-after) tasks had already been assigned to full-time permy developers or contractors that joined the project weeks before i joined. i am assuming that due to a combination of timing and my previous experience with unit tests, i was assigned the illustrious task of writing all the unit tests for all the other developer's code! oh what fun!

although i know i am better qualified to work on other coding tasks (testing is not my forte); i'm not so full of myself that i think a testing task is beneath me. i am happy to help the team out however i can; and i intend to do the best that i can to complete the task i've been assigned. besides, they're paying me a pretty penny, and i get paid regardless of what task i'm assigned ;¬)

that said, i do not think it is a good idea for one developer to be writing the unit tests for even one other developer, not to mention a whole team of developers (there's 10 of them)!

i'm planning on making a case to my manager (who is kind of green at managing sofware dev projects) that this is not a good path to go down for several reasons:

1) it's extremely risky! 2) it's very unorthodox! 3) i'm not a "tester", i'm a coder!

to help me make my case to my manager, my questions to the forum are:

1. how common is it to have one member of a dev team write the unit tests for code written by other members of the team?

2. what are some of the risks involved in this approach?

3. what would you do in the same situation?

4. what does this say about the manager that assigned the task?

thanks in advance for your replies.

ciao,
    sun_certified