Constructor Chaining in C#

Question

• Dear All,

I am actually new to Object Orientated Programming. I was just studing about Constructors  and I came across the concept of Constructor Chaining.Can some 1
    explain me about what is this constructor chaining.I know it means that we can call one constructor from another constructor. I have tried 1 example which is
    as follows:

class Class1

{

private string e_name,e_JobTiltle,e_Address ;

private Class1(string name,string Title)

{
    e_name =name;
    e_JobTiltle=Title;
    }

private Class1(string name,string Title,string Address)

{
    e_name =name;
    e_JobTiltle=Title;
    e_Address = Address;
    }

Now how can I implement Constructor chaining in the above example.Sorry its a beginner level question. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanking you in Anticipation.

cheers,
    Sam

Friday, September 30, 2005 3:34 PM

Answers

• the 'chain constructors' ideas are that you write as little code as possible, and, cope with the fact that C# doesnt allow 'default arguments'. Also, the ctors must be 'public', or the world will not see them.

Therefore, one writes

public Class1(string name,string Title,string Address){   //   the "second" ctor 
       e_name =name;
       e_JobTiltle=Title;
       e_Address = Address;
    }

and, the first ctor becomes

public Class1(string name,string Title) : this(name, Title, "my default address")
    {}

Friday, September 30, 2005 3:56 PM

All replies

• You dont have to change anything in the above code.

Basically constructor chaining is where a subclass calls its superclasses constructor which subsequentally calls its superclasses constrctor and so on.

So if you were to create another class that inherits from the above base class then the derived class would be guaranteed to call the base classes constructor.

So every derived class from there on would call its superclasses constructor until it gets the ther original base class.

Thats constructor chaining.