How to determine font to use?

Question

• Sorry if this is a really silly question but I am new to all this - how on earth do I determine the font that CMFCButton is using?

I have some CMFCButton, CEdit and CStatic controls on my window (created programatically in my widow OnCreate handler).

The font that the CMFCButton uses is totally different to the other two.  It's nice and I want the CEdit and CStatic to look the same - in fact all the CMFCblah controls look nice - it's just the others that have the old plain font.

Anyway at first I thought I could try out setting the font using whatever the CMFCButton is using:

CFont *bf = my_button->GetFont();

Then derive a copy in the usual way (get logfont then create a new cfont and createindirect...)

However the CMFCButton GetFont() method returns NULL- even though I call it after invoking its Create() method - so it should be established proper right???

In any case I should not need to clone the font from a button - I should use the same method that the button itself uses to determine its font.

So - how do I determine the font in the same way that CMFCButton does?

Cheers guys

Gareth

Saturday, March 27, 2010 7:37 PM

All replies

• GetFont returns NULL if control is using the system font.
    Nikita Leontiev
    Sunday, March 28, 2010 12:37 PM
  • I think you could use GetWindowDC() then call GetCurrentFont() to determine the font assigned to a window.  Worth a try anyway.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/242xhdxx.aspx

Tom

• Proposed as answer by Yi Feng, Li Thursday, April 01, 2010 2:34 AM
    Monday, March 29, 2010 11:16 PM
  • Hi Gareth

Your question is insteresting. I have tried your way to "getFont" from a CButton object, it returns a "NON-NULL" CFont. The font name I get from my case is "MS Shell Dlg 2", following is the way I used to get it. In the sample code I get the font (font1) from Button1, then I use createPointFont to create another font, font2, and set it to Button2.