none
Can I replace (upgrade) my process template in TFS2013?

Question

• I have been using TFS since the 2010 incarnation.  We then upgraded to TFS2012, then 2012.2, and just this week went up to TFS2013.

We only use Source Control and Builds so far, and there is a lot of code in there, in a single Team Project which was originally created with the MSF Agile 5.0 process template.  But we have not been using work items or any of the project management stuff.

Up until now.

My company have ditched Rally and I'm keen to use the agile management features of TFS as they looks awesome.

The trouble is, my process template is way out of date, and having had a quick look at the 5.0 template compared with the 2013 template, we would much rather start off with the latest template.

I've looked around on the web and have seen loads of (very complex) posts about how to upgrade a process template, using powershell scripts, witadmin and poking about with XML files.  This all sounds very complex and a prime candidate for messing something up.

As we don't have any work item history we want to keep is there an easy way to rip out the original template which the Team Project was created with and upgrade to the latest and greatest????

Also as an aside do most of you folk prefer the Agile or Scrum template?  I was using Agile for my project as the Scrum template wasn't around at the time.  We do track Actual and Remaining hours against tasks though and I noticed that was not available in the Scrum template.

Thanks for any help you can offer, particularly on the upgrade process!

Friday, January 31, 2014 8:34 PM

Answers

All replies