Cannot access tools in the visual basic 2008 - windows forms application -toolbox

Question

• I am new to Visual Basic 2008 Express edition and have tried to create a first VB Program using an edition I downloaded from Microsoft.

However I cannot access any of the tools in the toolbox that I open after File > New Project > Windows Forms Application > Toolbox

The Toolbox window that opens on the left of the console does not contain any Tools unlike what I have seen in a VB Demo Video.

Probably an error in my downloaded version or I need to do some further downloads of tools etc.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Saturday, April 10, 2010 6:41 AM

All replies

• Hi Beginner,

You start a new project, select Windows Applications forms and type in a Project name it will open a blank form1.vb in the design mode tab. At this point the controls are availible in the tool box. The controls are availible only in the design mode when form1.vb is displayed. If  form1.vb (designer) tab is displayed this is where you enter code and no tools will be in the tool box unless you have built added some for this mode.. To open the designer mode right click on the form1.vb in the solution explorer on the right side of you screen and select open from the drop dowm list.

If when VB express first opens you don't have the tools, the install was bad or the settings were not correct during install.

Before doing a reinstall got to this link and folow the direction given by wz2b about the eight post down. He tells you how to repopulate the tool box.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/vssetup/thread/490c9f52-f0c3-4fd3-9770-b8be9e0fd9d9

If You reinstall you need to go back to the Microsft website and read how to reinstall VB before reinstalling.

Curtis

Always Lost in Code, Always mark answers as correct if they answer you question and solve your problem. This way others when searching for similar problems can find the answer faster.
    Saturday, April 10, 2010 12:59 PM