Sending data from Matlab to an external program using UDP

General discussion

• Hi all,

I'm totally new to UDP protocols. I'm trying to send data from Matlab to an external program using UDP, but of course, I'm not able to make it work.

My code is as follows:

In Matlab (Emitter):

port=8051;
    host='127.0.0.1';
    u = udp(host,port, 'LocalPort',8052);
    fopen(u)
    x=2;
    fwrite(u,x,'uint')
    fclose(u)

In the Externel Program (Receiver)

private  void ReceiveData()
            {

client = new UdpClient(8051);
                while (true)
                {
                    try
                    {
                      IPEndPoint anyIP = new IPEndPoint(IPAddress.Any, 0);

byte[] data = client.Receive(ref anyIP);    //Receive data from client

// Codify data with format UTF8 to TextFormat
                        string text = Encoding.UTF8.GetString(data);

}
                    catch (Exception err)
                    {
                        print(err.ToString());
                    }
                }
            }

Any idea of how I can implement it, or why it is not working will be really appreaciated. Thanks a lot in advance!

Monday, October 22, 2012 7:28 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Please consider to use these forums:http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/ncl/threads

Cheers, Amy

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 7:28 AM
  • Your program isn't doing anything with the code so it may appear like it is doing nothing. You also have to change your EndPoint port number from 0 to 8051.  You should startup the Visual Studio application before running the Matlb code.  The program will terminate if it is actually running (except you are in an endless loop).  Let me example the code completely so you will understand how to debug the code.

A connection consists of 3 items

1) The Source IP address

2) The Destination IP address

3) The Port number which is the same on both end of the connection

Here is the matlab program with explainations