Define constants in C#

Question

• Hello

I am brand new to C# and this is my first attempt, so terminology and best practices may not be all there.

I am trying to write a game, with a controlling class called Game in a file called Game.cs. Having done some investigation, I have created some structure to the rest of the project. I have another class called Cell in Cell.cs in a sub folder called Cell. What I want to do is define global constants, so that they can be used across the project (#DEFINE in C). I have created an additional class called Constants in Constants.cs in the sub folder Constants. It contains the following :-

namespace <some namespace>.Constants
    {
        public class Constants
        {
            // Container for Global Constants
            public const int GRID_SIZE = 81;
            public const int ELEMENT_SIZE = 9;
            public const int BOX_SIZE = 3;

// Private constructor to prevent instantiation of, or inheritance
            // from, this class.
            private Constants()
            {
            }
        }
    }

In Cell.cs I have defined the following :-

namespace <some namespace>.Cell
    {
        public class Cell
        {
            private bool locked;        // Indicates whether this cell can be modified.
            private int answer;         // Contains the value of the answer for this cell or zero.

private bool[] possibles = new bool[ELEMENT_SIZE];

And then loads more code...............

When I build this I get an error for the line that commences private bool[] possibles...... and that error is CS0103 The name ELEMENT_SIZE does not exist in the current context.

So please help. What am I doing wrong. I have trawled around the web for hours looking for solutions and they all give this idea as how to do this and say it works, but not for me. I am using VS Express 2008 on Vista based PC.

Any help gratefully received.

Cheers

PSO57

Tuesday, March 17, 2009 4:37 PM

Answers

• pso57 said: