none
RX and simple metronone - stop after x ticks

Question

• Hi all,

I just started learning RX and I already stumbled upon simple case which I cannot solve. I'm porting simple music application to use RX (if you're Win8 user you can find it here http://apps.microsoft.com/windows/pl-pl/app/rhythm-trainer/86626ba4-21ab-49eb-8dfd-9b1221286a87). I want to implement Metronome class with following contract:

Play(TimeSpan interval) - start ticks with given interval

Play(int barCount) - if already playing play additional count of bars and stop

Stop() - stop immediately.

Here's my implementation (simplified):

private readonly Subject<TimeSpan> _startSubject;
            private readonly Subject<int> _stopRequestedSubject;
            private readonly Subject<long> _stopSubject;
            private readonly IObservable<long> _metronome;

public Metronome(IScheduler scheduler)
            {
                _startSubject = new Subject<TimeSpan>();
                _stopSubject = new Subject<long>();
                _stopRequestedSubject = new Subject<int>();

_metronome =
                    _startSubject
                    .Select(x => Observable.Interval(x, scheduler).TakeUntil(_stopSubject))
                    .Concat()
                    .Repeat();

_stopRequestedSubject
                    .SelectMany(_metronome.Skip)
                    .Repeat()
                    .Subscribe(r => _stopSubject.OnNext(r));

_metronome.Subscribe(DoTick);
            }

private void DoTick(long tickNumber)
            {

}

public void Start( double bpm)
            {
                var delay = TimeSpan.FromMilliseconds(60000.0d / (bpm));
                _startSubject.OnNext(delay);
            } 

public void Stop()
            {
                _stopRequestedSubject.OnNext(4);
            }

The problem with above is that Stop(int barCount) does not stop metronome after barCount ticks played.