none
Where does development come in?

Question

• Hello:

I'm a legacy application developer, 40 years programming experience, but none of it in Windows.  My company is in the middle of their upgrade to SAP, and the role they see for me down the road (well, they'd probably like me to retire -- but that's not happening!), is in Sharepoint.  I first heard of Sharepoint last October, when they sent me to a seminar -- where I was totally overwhelmed in the first few minutes -- they were discussing things like "Viewstates", "caching", monitoring performance with things called "fiddler", etc...

Since then, I've been studying Sharepoint -- but from a user perspective.  So, I think I'm now pretty far along as far as knowing what it's used for -- lists, libraries, work flows, BI, etc.   But I don't quite understand where developers come in.   Is it in creating new gallery items where the "out-of-the-box" items don't quite cut it? And what tools do developers use?  Is it mainly Visual Web Developer?  Could someone point me to some education  in this area?

Thanks,

Jeff S  

• Moved by Clayton Cobb Sunday, April 17, 2011 5:23 PM Programming question (From:SharePoint 2010 - General Questions and Answers)
    Sunday, April 17, 2011 4:28 PM

Answers