Import From Excel Extension C# Example

Question

• Hello,

I am attempting to use the import from Excel Extension in Visual Studio Lightswitch and am unable to get the code to work.  I believe this to be a very very basic question so let me setup my scenerio.  I am fairly new to programming and have been working through some books and such to pick it up but it has been quite some time since I have been able to spend any time with it due to my current project workload.

I have a need on our current project to create an issues tracking log and I thought it would be nice to give lightswitch a go.,  I am loving it so far but I have a need to import data from some Excel Spreadsheets.  So I have the extension loaded and the button created on my Editable Data Grid screen.  When I try to put in the code to execute when the button is pressed I am getting an intellisense error .  Is there a C# sample out there for the importer?  I do not get the "ImportFromExcel" option in my Intellisense.

Again I am probably doing something wrong at the most basic level.  Thank you for any assistance.

Marco

Monday, June 20, 2011 3:00 PM

Answers

• Hi Yann.  Yes I have it installed and selected in my project.  As I was replying to this I foudn out the issue.  It appears there is a typo in the document.  The actual code that I have working is:

partial void ImportFromExcel_Execute()
        {
          // Write your code here.
          LightSwitchUtilities.Client.ExcelImporter.ImportFromExcel(this.Facilities);
        }

It is all good now.  I guess had I spent a few more minutes of frustration I would have stumbled across it.  :)

Thanks for the reply and help.

Marco

• Marked as answer by MCrank Monday, June 20, 2011 3:59 PM
    Monday, June 20, 2011 3:59 PM
  • That's interesting, I didn't need the "ExceImporter" part, just the code I gave you above. Intellisense after Client shows "ImportFromExcel", as indeed it shows "ExcelImporter" as well.

Maybe it's a C# thing!