SQL Error: Invalid column name . . . [SOLVED]

Question

• Hello, I am new to Visual C# and MSDN.  My searches have yielded little help, so I'm hoping a post will.

I am playing around with the Northwind sample DB and have a simple app that returns each customer and the orders made by that customer:

SqlDataAdapter custAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM dbo.Customers", customerConnection);
    OleDbDataAdapter ordAdapter = new OleDbDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM Orders", orderConnection);       

In trying to hard code a query for the orders belonging to a specific customer, I made the following addition (in green):

SqlDataAdapter custAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM dbo.Customers WHERE CustomerID = ANATR", customerConnection);

This generated an error:

Exception Details: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: Invalid column name 'ANATR'.

What is the correct way to go about doing this? Ultimately, I would like to put in a variable that allows me to enter any customer's name/id and see all the associated orders.

Any help or advice is appreciated!

• Edited by Kingworks Friday, June 27, 2008 3:31 PM Problem solved
    Friday, June 27, 2008 1:47 PM

Answers

• Tables["Customers"] is a table IN MEMORY which holds all the customers with CustomerID == 'ANATR' (which should be just one). Tables["Orders"] is a table in memory which holds all orders for all customers.  You are trying to join the two tables.  But there are orders in Tables["Orders"] for customers which are not in Tables["Customers"]. That's the problem you are having.

change the second line to

OleDbDataAdapter ordAdapter = new OleDbDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM Orders WHERE CustomerID = 'ANATR'", orderConnection);

should solve the problem.

Both the problems  you've had are far more related to SQL than C#, so  that's probably should be where you spend your study time.

Truth, James (http://www.honestillusion.com)
    • Proposed as answer by Papy Normand Sunday, June 29, 2008 12:03 PM