none
Does a legacy SQL client get redirected to the SQL instance behind an 2012 AG Listener?

Question

• I found the following video in another forum post where the video shows how enlightened (newer) SQL clients that support the redirect feature are redirected to the SQL instance where the AG listener is running because that is the primary replica in the AG at that time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8lSl8nO1r4

That makes total sense.

What I can't find confirmation is if in the case of a legacy SQL client if the SQL client keeps talking to the AG Listener the whole time (unlike the redirected clients), or if something else happens. I suspect it keeps talking to the AG Listener name and IP address which "proxies" the requests to the back end SQL instance.

I apologize if I am not using the correct terminology, I am new to SQL 2012 AG and am trying to wrap my brain around a lot of concepts all at once. :)

Friday, July 26, 2013 1:02 AM

Answers

All replies

• The Listener basically is an IP Address for the Database, so even legacy Clients can handle a Failover easily. (Given that they do reconnect at all... After all, during the Failover you loose Connection for a few seconds.) The one Thing that will not work is a Multi-Subnet Cluster, because there you have different IPs for the nodes, and that Needs a Client Feature to work...
    Friday, July 26, 2013 3:07 PM
  • I apologize, I realize now I didn't phrase my question as a question but rather a statement of what I was looking for clarification on.

To rephrase my question as an actual question:

Does a legacy SQL client only talk to the AG Listener name and IP the whole time, or does it switch to another name and IP like the enlightened SQL clients do by switch to the SQL Instance name and IP of the primary replica?

We are trying to anticipate any difference in behavior between older SQL client and the updated SQL clients that the video shows are aware of the SQL instances behind the AG Listener.