Multithreading and Com object

Question

• Hello,

I have a situation where I have a piece of software that I need to call from a .Net web service.  This software is accessible through a System.Runtime.Interopservices wrapper.  Within the software, it can support 8 simultaneous transactions in memory.  Each transaction keeps its own ID and objects that stay resident in memory until individually deleted when finished.  Also the software has an initialize function that caches its database and a cleanup function that destroys all the transactions and frees the memory.

I am fairly new to multithreading and I could really use some advice on how to monitor the 8 transactions, especially since calling from a webservice.  In a single thread, I can loop through these and not have an issue but calling it from a webservice, I need to monitor the concurrent lookups and make sure that I don't go over 8 concurant ones.

I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Thanks,

Thursday, May 10, 2012 7:21 PM

All replies

• Please try threadPool http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.threading.threadpool(v=vs.100).aspx 

Have a nice day.

Ghost,
    Call me ghost for short, Thanks
    To get the better answer, it should be a better question.

Friday, May 11, 2012 8:55 AM
  • How are your these 8 transactions are being executed? Is it sequentially or with 8 parallel threads? In a without web service scenario how you monitor these transactions? (Can you share few lines of code here?)