Serial Port - Auto detecting connected device

Question

• Folks, I am new to the VB.net and building applications world! I have been attempting to the following for quite a while and am in great need for help!

Objective: Scan available serial ports on the computer or application and detect the serial device connected to the appropriate port. I try to open each port and attempt a serial "hand shake" with my device before I attempt to enter the state to acquire further data for processing.

The below is a class, I had written.

Imports System.IO.Ports.SerialPort

Public Class HSerialPort

Private WithEvents RS232Port As System.IO.Ports.SerialPort
        Private WithEvents RxTimerOut As System.Timers.Timer

#Region "Constants"

Private Const H_MODE_CHECK As String = "SMS"
        Private Const H_MODE_OK As String = "SMA"
        Private Const H_MODE_DATALOGGING As String = "SM2DL"

#End Region

#Region "Private Variables"

Private AvailablePorts() As String
        Private NoAvailablePorts() As String
        Private PortToOpen As String

Private PortRxMsg As String
        Private PortTxMsg As String
        Private HSerialState As String = H_MODE_CHECK

#End Region

#Region "Constructors"

Sub New()

RS232Port = New System.IO.Ports.SerialPort ' Create serial object
            RxTimerOut = New System.Timers.Timer

' Time out 1 second after transmit
            RxTimerOut.Interval = 1000

InitializePortSettings() ' Initialize basic port settings
            AvailablePorts = System.IO.Ports.SerialPort.GetPortNames()
            'PortToOpen = FindPort()

'RS232Port.PortName() = "COM1"
            'RS232Port.Open()
            'RS232Port.Write("SMS" & vbCr)

End Sub

#End Region

#Region "Properties"

'    Private Property SMPort() As String
        '        Get
        '            Return PortToOpen
        '        End Get
        '        Set(ByVal value As String)
        '            PortToOpen = value
        '        End Set
        '    End Property