none
sort multidimensional array

Question

• Hi. I am a beginner  in Visual C++ and have confused for sorting the multidimensional array because there are a lot of ways to do that. Please help.

I have an array with 51 rows and 4 columns like : int Myarray[51][4]. I want to sort it based on the second column. What is the best way to do that with the least code? (I know there are sort() and qsort() but I do not know how to use it). please tell the header it needs too.

regards.

• Edited by salmasa150 Sunday, July 28, 2013 7:24 AM
    Sunday, July 28, 2013 7:24 AM

Answers

• What exactly I want is as follow.

I want to sort an array like Myarray[3][4] based on the second column while other corresponding rows exchange consequently.

Myarray is as follows:

3    8     7    2

9    12   0    4

12  2    14   1

I want to sort it based on the second column using “std::qsort" or "std::sort” or other quick method that would lead to the following :

12  2    14  1

3    8     7    2

9    12   0    4

It would be appreciated if somebody helps me.

If you express your array as a std::vector<std::vector<int>> then you can use the following comparison object

typedef std::vector<int> IntVec;

struct Comp
    {
        bool operator()(const IntVec& a, const IntVec& b) const
        {
            return a[1] < b[1];
        }
    };

David Wilkinson | Visual C++ MVP

Sunday, July 28, 2013 1:26 PM
  • Myarray is an array with 51 elements.  (The fact that each element is itself an array of 4 int is, for the moment, a nit).

To sort the elements using qsort:

You would pass qsort the address of the first element (either Myarray or &Myarray[0], the two are equivalent in this context), the number of elements (some expression evaluating to 51), the size of each element (sizeof Myarray[0]), and a pointer to the comparison function.