none
Using a Barcode Scanner in VFP Apps

Question

• Hello Experts,

I am new to Barcode functionality in my VFP Apps.

I have everything else going except now the client needs to introduce Barcode functionality, like the functionality in any Point-Of-Sales Apps.

I would like help as to how I need to implement this logic into my apps.

The Client has a CCD Barcode reader (ACan) from his old Application and does not want to replace it.

Moreover, He does not know what barcode font it uses (Do we need to know it!) and he states that it reads all Barcode labels. He also prints his own Barcode Labels through his previous Apps, which will be required to be replicated in my apps too.

I have seen a lot of Vfp Barcode programs out there but have never got a complete picture of its implementation.

Any guidance, help or tutorials will be of great help.

I also need to test this functionality, what Device do I need to a purchase.

Regards

Stanley

Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:04 PM

Answers

• HI Dev Papa.

I use a font called free3of9 (just google it). it is free to use as long as you distribute the license info with your apps. All barcode readers can read it so you can use it to print labels, etc. A barcode reader just translates the barcode to keystrokes so when you scan something, the computer automatically "types in" the characters/numbers that are on the barcode. It is very simple to do.

Mike z
    Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:25 PM
  • The barcode scanner will have the option to send a carriage return or not so it is taken care of on the barcode reader itself. I am not aware of any way to "turn off" the barcode reader. You can think of it as an extra keyboard that just reads barcodes. To stay in the same field, you would use "return 0" in the valid clause after you have done whatever you wish to do. ie. calculate totals, etc.
    Mike z
    Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:57 PM