none
Sharepoint Workflow - Change multiple items in other list

Question

• Hi Everyone,

SharePoint Newbie here... I'm currently working on a Sharepoint workflow in Sharepoint designer. Here is what I'm trying to acheive.

• Workflow is based on List 1
    • Trying to update multiple items in List 2 based on information from Item in List 1 which is a "Choice (menu to choose from)" with mutliple items. (Field name "Deploy To:")

WorkFlow Step (Update Item in List 2)

List: "List 2"

Set This Field: "Configuration Revision" To This Value: "Current Item: Release Revision"

Find the List Item:

• Field: "Environment Title"
    • Value: "Current Item:Deploy To:" (Deploy To: Choices, comma delimited)

When I run the workflow with only one choice selected in the "Deploy To:" field, the workflow updates the "Configuration Revision" field in List 2 successfully, if there is more than one item selected in the "Deploy To:" Field, nothing in List 2 gets updated.

Does this make sense or is there a better way that I can explain?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andrew

Tuesday, June 05, 2012 6:53 AM

Answers

• Hi AndrewGriffioen,

I understand that you want to update item in List2 using a multiple selection Choice column in List 1 to  look up for the corresponding items .When achieving this using SharePoint designer workflow ,there are some limitations:

1. In the ‘Find the List Item ’ section ,you operation used is ‘=’ .This operation cannot be modified to others like ‘contains’ .So when your Deploy To column have multiple selections ,the workflow will use the whole value to compare with the value of Environment Title column .So it won’t find any item matching the condition and won’t update too .