none
How to get the deselect item in ListView with Html+JS

Question

• I have a feature, when user selects or deselects one item in listview, a list maintaining the selected items will add the item or delete the item automatically.

I am new to use JS and develop winapp. I have tried many methods to get the item in js when user deselect one in onselectionchanged or onselectionchanging function, but not works.

Seems the eventObject only related to the listview instead of one item. 

_itemSelected: function (eventObject) {}

Actually, i can't get the latest selected item either, but i use a workaround:

//add item to selectedList               
    listView.selection.getItems().done(function(items) {                  
                        selectedList.push(items.pop().data); //this is not correct, the selection is ordered by item index, instead of select order.
                    });
                }

Please help. Thanks!

Supplement:  use the workaround to filter the added and removed item using two loop.

• Edited by Forzas Thursday, August 29, 2013 7:02 AM fix incorrect discription
    Tuesday, August 27, 2013 12:47 PM

Answers

• Hi Forzas,

Normally the onselectionchanged event notifies you when the ListView control's selection changes, but it won't tell you how the selection changed. But you could do it by yourself.

Before the selection changes, cache the current selection by calling selection.getIndices and storing the result. selection.getIndices returns an Array that contains the indexes of the currently selected items.

var prevSelection = lv.selection.getIndices(); 

Register for the onselectionchanged event.

When the onselectionchanged event fires, call selection.getIndices again to get an Array of the currently selected item indexes.

var currentSelection = lv.selection.getIndices();

Compare the two arrays. One way to calculate the difference is to use the Array.filter method