Tell me what kind of Custom Rule you want to write!!!

General discussion

• I am a program manager for our Code Analysis system.  I want to know what kind of custom rules you would like to write.  Ignore what you may or may not know about what's in FxCop already.  If you could track anything - tell me what you want!

I don't care if it's things you know we can't do - except maybe 'find my bugs'. Smile  Tell your friends, tell anyone who has ever said: I wish this thing could...

The reason I want everything is both to help plan the rules we should just plain provide; and how to best provide an actual supported extensibility feature.

Please send what you would like to see to: JRohde@Microsoft.com

Thanks!

Joe

Wednesday, July 04, 2007 1:35 AM

All replies

• Hi Joe,

Here's a list with rules that I wrote here at the company:

• Rules to check for XML comments (we know that the compiler can enforce that public members have XML comments, even though it doesn't check whether the XML comments actually have something typed in it... we wanted to make sure developers aren't just getting away with empty XML comments, and we also want developer to put comments on every type and type's member, no matter what the visibility is):
      • All type members must have xml comments
      • All types must have xml comments
      • Assembly libraries need to have valid XML docs (this one I borrowed from an MSDN article)
    • Rules for naming conventions:
      • Variables should have meaningful names: we don't like variables named like "i" or "j" for counters in for-loops, so I wrote this rule that asks the developer to give variables some more meaningful names.
    • Rules specific to users of our framework:
      • Business Entities must not have public constructors (those objects are meant to be instantiated through Factory methods)
      • Business Objects must not have public constructors (same reason as above)