"Could not create type..." error deploying webservice

Question

• I know this question has been asked a billion times already because I've found several instances on the net, but none of the proposed solutions seems to solve my problem, so I'd appreciate any help.

I've created a C# webservice on my local machine that runs fine.  Now I'm trying to deploy it to a webserver.  The server is Windows 2003 with IIS 6.  I created a new virtual directory in IIS, set it to be an application, and gave it "scripts only" execute permissions.  I've manually copied all the files from my local webservice directoy to the virtual directory on the server.  When I try to access the page, I get the dreaded "Could not create type 'Service'" message.  Here is some additional interesting information:

1. I'm new to VS 2005 / .NET 2.0, and still kind of new to webservices in general.  I've noticed that when I build the webservice on my local machine, it doesn't create a .dll for my service like webservices I created with VS 2003.  Instead the App_Code directory sits in the virtual directory containing my code file, and apparently the website is dynamically compiling it.  There is no 'Bin' directory (well, technically there is because I added a reference to a class library, and it's dll sits there, but there's nothing compiled from my project there).  Is this copacetic?  I read up on the "publish web site" feature that is supposed to generate an already-compiled dll, but when I tried it it didn't work either.

2. My local machine is running IIS 5.  On the settings for the local virtual directory, I've noticed that the web service is set to use integrated windows authentication (might have set that myself manually, don't remember).  By default it's not on the production web server, but turning that on does not make it work.