none
Help me "think in Rx". :) Workflow Design

Question

• Hello,

I am relatively new to Rx and it seems to be solution to my async woes. I'm hoping you can help me to "think in Rx".

Using C# i am trying to create an asynchronous data processing workflow.

Currently i am using threadpools and background workers.... you can only imagine the horror.

Rx looks like the end of all that.

So i would like to start discussion on how i would implement my model with Rx. Links to other examples would be appreciated, but advice is all that is required at present.

The workflow i have in mind has a Data Source, a Network Node and a Node Process as it's three components. Node processes can be different on each node making each "network node" a "node process" factory where ach "node procss" is running on it's own thread and pushes it's data to the next node in the chain. 

So a data source generates data, which i believe should be an IObservable. The first node in the network is subscribed to this IObservable and creates a node process when data is pushed to it. The node process is async and does not stop the node recieving further data to create new processes and its data will be pushed to the next node once it is completed. 

The second node can observe the first node's "processFinished" event which will push the original data, plus any data added by the last node's process. If this node has all that it needs to continue, it creates a process and the chain continues until it hits the final output node. Otherwise no processing is required.

Here is an idealised ascii diagram. Where O represents node and dashes present connections. 

O
                   /   \
    Input----O    O-----Output
                   \   /
                     O

Input - A data source, lines of text, feed of numbers, list of classes etc which we will call ProcessData class.