none
Make MultiValue Parameter Dynamically Enable/ Disable

General discussion

• Hi,

I have two MultiValue  parameters in SSRS report. Both the parameters are independant of each other.  If I choose value from first parameter, Second parameter should be disabled dynamically. If I choose  value from second parameter, First parameter should be disabled dynamically.

Can this be achieved in SSRS ?

Is there a workaround to achieve the above scenario ?

Regards

G. R. Venkatesh

• Edited by Venkatesh G R Wednesday, April 23, 2014 6:30 PM I am new to SSRS. How do I make Multivalued parameter as NULL. SSRS doesn't allow to do so.
    Wednesday, April 23, 2014 10:05 AM

All replies

• Hi Venkatesh,

From users experience perspective this is not a good functionality you want to implement. Though this is not possible, this  can be achieved in different manner. This is not required in SSRS. With this functionality, once user selects 1 parameter, the other will be disabled. And if user wants to select 2nd parameter then he has to reload the report as it is disabled now.

I hope, with this functionality, you want to disallow the users from selecting the other parameter. If this is true then you can make both parameters as Allow Nulls. When user selects parameter 1 then other one he can set to null and the other way.

Thanks
    Shenoy

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 11:41 AM
  • Using nulls is one way. Another way is to set a default value say NotApplicable. Just set below expression for default value

IIF(Len(Parameters!SecondParameter.Value) > 0,"NotApplicable",Nothing)

Similarly for the other parameter

Please Mark This As Answer if it helps to solve the issue Visakh ---------------------------- http://visakhm.blogspot.com/ https://www.facebook.com/VmBlogs

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 11:51 AM
  • Using nulls is one way. Another way is to set a default value say NotApplicable. Just set below expression for default value